MARS 4080 & 6080

Physical

Oceanography

Last Updated August 20, 2020

Please report any problems here:

khyrenbach (at) hpu (dot) edu

 
  Syllabus
 

(Last Updated: Aug 13)

   
     
     

Dr. David Hyrenbach

Office:

EMSB, Oceanic Institute

 

Phone:

(808) 236-3563

Office Hours:

M & W; 10:30 - 11:45

M & W; 14:00 - 15:00

or by appointment at EMSB, OI

 

Course Readings

The PDFs posted on this page are for class use only.

Please do not distribute.

 

 
 

Lecture 1: Monday Aug. 24

Extra Readings

 

 

 
 

Lecture 2: Wednesday Aug. 26

Extra Readings

 

DPO

IPO

 

 
 

Lecture 3: Monday Aug. 31

 

Physical Water Properties

Physical Water Properties

 

Background Handouts

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

Pickard & Emery

IPO

 

 
 

Lecture 4: Wednesday Sept. 2

 

Water Temperature

Water Temperature

 

Assigned Readings

 

DPO

IPO

 

 
 

Monday Sept. 7

 

NO CLASS

Memorial Day

 

 
 

Lecture 5: Wednesday Sept. 9

 

Lecture 6: Monday Sept. 14

 

The Atmosphere and the Global Heat Budget

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

IPO

 

 
 

Lecture 7: Wednesday Sept. 16

 

Quiz #1

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

 

 
 

Lecture 8: Monday Sept. 21

 

The Oceanic Heat Budget

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

 

 
 

Lecture 9: Wednesday Sept. 23

 

Global Oceanic Warming

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

Article

Article

 

 
 

 

Lecture 10: Monday Sept. 28

 

Assigned Readings

 

OC

 

 
 

Lecture 11: Wednesday Sept. 30

 

 

 
 

Lecture 12: Monday Oct. 5

 
 

 
 

Lecture 13: Wednesday Oct. 7

 

 

 
 

Lecture 14: Monday Oct. 12

Wind-driven Circulation

 

 

Assigned Readings

 

 

 

 

 
 

Lecture 15: Wednesday Oct. 14

Assigned Readings

 

 

 

 
 

Lecture 16: Monday Oct. 19

 

 
 

Lecture 17: Wednesday Oct. 21

Lecture 18: Monday Oct. 26

 

 
 
 

 
 
Midterm Exam I: Monday Nov 2

 

Covers The Following Material:

Through Lecture 16 (Oct 19)

Homeworks 1, 2, and 3

Quizzes 1 and 2

Required Readings

 

 
Lecture 21: Monday Nov. 9
 

 
 

 

Wednesday Nov. 11

NO CLASS

 

Veteran's Day

 

 

 

Lecture 22: Monday Nov. 16

 

 
 
Lecture 23: Wednesday Nov. 18
 

Internal and Planetary Waves

 

 
 
Lecture 24: Monday Nov. 23
 

 

Tides

 

 
 
Lecture 25: Wednesday Nov. 25
 

 

Regional Oceanography of Hawaii

 

 
 

Midterm Exam II: Monday Nov. 30

 

Covers The Following Material:

From Lecture 17 (Oct 21)

To Lecture 24 (Nov 23)

Required Readings

 

 

Wednesday Dec. 2

 

Literature Review Presentations

 

 

 

Wednesday Dec. 9

Literature Review Presentations

 
 

 
 

 

Friday Dec. 11

 

Submit Write-up via Email

 
 

Back to Teaching