MARS 4080 & 6080

Physical

Oceanography

Last Updated November 28, 2019

Please report any problems here:

khyrenbach (at) hpu (dot) edu

 
  Syllabus
 

(Last Updated: Aug 25)

   
     
     

Dr. David Hyrenbach

Offices:

AC 249, HLC

EMSB, Oceanic Institute

Phone:

(808) 236-3563

Office Hours:

HLC: Tu & Th; 10:45 - 12:00

OI: Tu & Th; 12:00 - 13:00

 

or by appointment at EMSB, OI

 

Course Readings

The PDFs posted on this page are for class use only.

Please do not distribute.

 

 

Week 1 - Course Introduction and Foundations

Task for this Week: Review Geophysical Principles

 

Lecture 1: Monday Aug. 26

Extra Readings

 

 

Lecture 2: Wednesday Aug. 28

Assigned Readings

 

DPO

IPO

 

 

Week 2 - Introduction to Hydrography

Task for this Week: Review Water Properties

 

Lecture 3: Wednesday Sept. 4

 

Overview of Physical Water Properties

Background Handouts

 

 

 

Assigned Readings

 

Pickard & Emery

IPO

 
 

 

Week 3 - Hydrography

Task for this Week: Review Water Property Distributions

 

Lecture 4A: Monday Sept. 9

 
 
 

Lecture 4B: Wednesday Sept. 11

 

Physical Water Property Distributions - Salinity, Oxygen and Nutrients

 

 

Week 4 - The Earth's Heat Budget

Task for this Week: Overview of the Oceanic Heat Budget

 

Lecture 5A: Monday Sept. 16

 

The Atmosphere and the Global Heat Budget

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

IPO

 

 

Lecture 5B: Wednesday Sept. 18

 

Quiz #1

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

 

 

 

Week 5 - The Forces Acting on The Water

Task for this Week: Overview of the Ocean Heat Budget

 

Lecture 6A: Monday Sept. 23

 

The Oceanic Heat Budget

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

IPO

 

 

Lecture 6B: Wednesday Sept. 25

 

Global Oceanic Warming

 
 

Assigned Readings

 

Article

Article

 

 

 

Week 6 - Forces and Equations

Task for this Week: Overview of Water Flow

 

 

Lecture 7A: Monday Sept. 30

 

Assigned Readings

 

OC

 

 

Lecture 7B: Wednesday Oct. 2

 

 

 

Week 7 - Equations of Motion

Task for this Week: Overview of the Equations of Motion

 

 

Lecture 8A: Monday Oct. 7

 
 

Lecture 8B: Wednesday Oct. 9

 

 

 

Week 8 - Wind-driven Circulation

Task for this Week: Overview of Wind Forcing

 

Lecture 9A: Monday Oct. 14

 

Lecture 9B: Wednesday Oct. 16

Assigned Readings

 

 

 

 

Week 9 - Regional Oceanography

Task for this Week: Overview of Regional Oceanography

 

Lecture 10: Monday Oct. 21

 

Guest Lecture : Wednesday Oct. 23

 

Guest Speaker: Regional Hawaii Circulation

(Dr. Sam Kahng)

 

 

Week 10 - Overview of Geostrophic Flow

Task for this Week: Equatorial Circulation and Boundary Currents

 

Lecture 11A: Monday Oct. 28

 

Lecture 11B: Wednesday Oct. 30

 

 

Week 11 - Overview of Regional Ocean Circulation

Task for this Week: Circulation Around Subtropical Gyres

 
 

Midterm Exam I: Wednesday Nov 6

 

Covers The Following Material:

Through Lecture 10 (Oct 21)

Homeworks 1, 2, and 3

Quizzes 1 and 2

Required Readings

 

Week 12 - Overview of Global Circulation

Task for this Week: Thermohaline Circulation

 

NO CLASS - Monday Nov. 11

HOLIDAY

 

Lecture 14: Wednesday Nov. 13

 

Thermohaline Circulation

Broeker_1991

Togweiller_&_Key_2001

LeGrande_et_al._2006

Student Paper Discussions

Elliot
Wolters

 

Week 13 - Overview of Waves

Task for this Week: Overview of Waves

 

Lecture 14: Wednesday Nov. 18

 

Surface Waves

Student Paper Discussions

Tim
Sarah
 

Lecture 15: Wednesday Nov. 20

 

 

Week 14 - Thermohaline Circulation

Task for this Week: Tides

 

Lecture 16: Monday Nov. 25

 

Tides

Student Paper Discussions

Daniel
 

Midterm Exam II: Wednesday Nov. 27

 

Covers The Following Material:

From Lecture 11 (Oct 23)

To Lecture 16 (Nov 25)

Required Readings

 

 
Week 15 - Finals' Week

Monday Dec. 2

(10.30 - 12.30)

 

Literature Review Presentations

 

Eliott Meijer
Coral Boundary Layers
Daniel Thai
Humboldt Squid Movements and O2 Minimum Zones
Sarah Springer
Shark Movements and Water Column Structure
Andrew Bayne
Seaturtle Migration Routes and Eddies
Tim Alonzo
ENSO and Tuna Fisheries
Cherise Spotkaef
Hydrothermal Flow in the Oceanic Basement
Tori Wolters
Sea Level Rise Effects on Mangroves

 

 
 

 

Thursday Dec. 5

 

Submit Write-up via Email

 
 

Back to Teaching